5 Questions with world champion Noelle Pikus-Pace

Utah Olympic ParkThe following is an excerpt from an article originally posted at DeseretNews.com:

Orem native and Mountain View High alum Noelle Pikus-Pace is a world champion skeleton athlete favored by many to win a medal in the 2006 Olympic Games. Then in a freak accident in October of 2005, she was hit by a sled and suffered a broken leg that still causes her pain. She won a spot on the U.S. Olympic team in October with the top female time and is on track to earn a long-awaited trip to the 2010 Winter Games. She lives in Eagle Mountain with her husband and 2-year-old daughter. She took some time with Deseret News sports writer Amy Donaldson to answer some questions at the first World Cup of this season in Park City.

Question: How did you avoid sinking into self-pity after the accident?

Answer: I don’t think I ever did. I felt I had two choices — move forward or look back. I was planning on retiring after the Olympics in 2006. And then, after the accident, my husband and I both decided it wasn’t time for me to be done. My dream has always been the Olympics.

Question: You have said fear and family concerns have been a distraction at times. How have you dealt with that?

Answer: I feel like I’m there now. A lot of it was that my heart was at home with my daughter and my husband. It probably started with the accident and then I have just never been able to get back into that mode. I feel like I am back now. My husband and Lacee, that’s why I’m doing this. This is their dream, too.

Question: Your husband built the sled you are using this year. How did that come about and has it made a difference?

Answer: After the accident, I really wasn’t comfortable on the sled. I know people don’t randomly build a piece of equipment, but he said, “I really want to do this for you.” I really feel comfortable to be on it. … He is as into this as I am and that’s what it’s taken.

Question: When did you first start to see the Olympics as a realistic goal?

Answer: When I was younger, I played softball and ran track, so I was always looking at the Summer Games. I got involved in the skeleton program (at the Utah Olympic Park) … and just before the 2002 games, I was competing (in skeleton).

Click here to read the entire article.

One Response to 5 Questions with world champion Noelle Pikus-Pace

  1. Pingback: Winter Sports News Roundup

Leave a Reply

