Whipping down a Utah track in a bobsled is a lesson in gravity

Utah Olympic ParkThe following is an excerpt from an article published at dallasnews.com in December of 2007:

Seated in a shell of fiberglass and steel, I stare straight forward, my heart hammering at a staccato pace. Quivering hands grip steering-cable D-rings. I test each, but nothing budges. The runners remain locked because I sit at a dead stop. That will soon change.

Ahead lies a twisting, half-mile chute of ice-covered concrete. Through it, my banged-up bobsled will hurtle at speeds touching 60 mph. I sit in the driver’s seat, realizing that only skill and experience separate me from a gurney ride to the ER.

I, of course, have neither.

“You ready?” one of the attendants asks.

“Sure,” I lie. “Let ‘er rip.” Ever since I saw the John Candy movie Cool Runnings, about the Jamaican bobsled team, I’ve wondered what it would be like to pilot one of these gravity-powered bullets. The Stephan Bosch Bobsled Driving School at Utah Olympic Park has provided me with an opportunity to do just that.

Located near Park City, the Olympic park was built for the 2002 Games. In addition to the bobsled track, it offers ski jumps, a freestyle hill and museums covering skiing and Olympic history. Today, the park provides a training ground for winter athletes and includes camps for otherwise sane folks who think that careening down a frozen trench might be fun.

Click here to read the entire article.

One Response to Whipping down a Utah track in a bobsled is a lesson in gravity

  1. Pingback: May the G-force be with you « The Utah Olympic Park Blog

Leave a Reply

